How to remove recommended items from Windows 11 menu

Windows 11 has brought with it numerous new products, both from the graphical point of view and from the point of view of functionality. In fact, taking a closer look at the interface of the latest version of Microsoft's operating system immediately highlights some interesting and, in some cases, very useful new features.

One of the many new features of Windows 11 resides in the menu Home, which has undergone a revision in terms of its appearance, but also the characteristics present in it. However, all these changes could create confusion for the user, who would only want the buttons and sections he needs in the Start menu.

Therefore, in the following article we will talk about how to remove recommended items from Windows 11 menu , a new feature, very interesting, but not everyone can like / serve.

Table of Contents

The new Windows 11 Start menu interface

Before I go on and show you how to remove recommended items from Windows 11 menuIt is good to provide you with preliminary information, to be able to show you in depth the new aspect of the Start menu and what its sections are.

When opening the menu Home, when you click on its icon in the taskbar, its different sections immediately come into view, divided in an orderly way:

  • Search bar: where you can do an exhaustive search of files, documents, photos and applications
  • Added / All apps: these two sections are dedicated to the applications installed on your PC. In particular, in the section Added you will find all the applications that you have inserted in the Start menu; in the section All applications , on the other hand, you will have an overview of all installed programs
  • Recommended Articles: section containing all files and programs used recently or with greater frequencyTherefore, if you usually work with the same files or use some programs frequently, this Start section may be useful, since inside you will find everything you need.
  • Count / Stop and Settings Buttons : section dedicated to managing la setting from the PC, you account and  botones stop / restart.

It goes without saying that while the Recommended Articles section may be useful to some users, others may not like it, mostly for a privacy issue: in fact, anyone using the PC could see the files and programs. you use most often.

Don't you like this thing? Then all you have to do is keep reading and find out how to remove recommended items from Windows 11 menu.

How to remove recommended items from Windows 11 menu

To solve your problem you will only have to change some parameters of Windows 11, a very simple and fast operation.

  • Open the configuration Windows (you can also do this by pressing the key combination WIN + I )
  • Inside the sidebar on the left, click Personalization
  • On the next screen, continue until Home

You can then change three parameters related to the Start menu:

  • Show recently added apps : if enabled, shows the user the latest applications installed on the PC
  • Show the most used applications : this is the function we talked about previously, since it allows you to show anyone who uses your PC the most used applications.
  • Show recently opened items in the start menu, jump lists, and File Explorer: as in the previous function, it allows you to view recently used files

In addition, I inform you that, to activate the Show the most used applications function, you must adjust a specific setting:

  • Open the configuration Windows (you can also do this by pressing the key combination WIN + I )
  • Continue on Privacy & Security.
  • In the section Windows permissions, click on General.
  • At this point, check the item Allow Windows to improve startup and search results by tracking application launches.

So how do you remove recommended items from Windows 11 start menu? Nothing simpler! In fact simply deactivate all three items seen above and the game is over. In fact, after performing these operations, no element will appear in the vicinity of the section Recommended Articles, except for a notice inviting the user to activate this function from the Settings (which, for now, cannot be deleted).

Doubts or problems? We help you